When to Renew Your Registration
For more information on when to renew your vehicle registration, click here.
The expiration date is the birthday of the first person listed on the title.
Renew On Time
Not receiving a renewal notice does not relieve the registered owner from the obligation to renew the vehicle’s registration by the due date. Penalties will not be waived because the owner did not receive a renewal notice. Contact us at email@example.com or 770-531-6950 for a copy of the renewal notice or to receive total amount due.
To ensure timely processing and to avoid penalties, carefully read the renewal notice and the enclosed insert for instructions and additional information. If a renewal is submitted without all the required information, it will be returned to the owner and tax/tag penalties will be applied.
Any paperwork, license plates or renewal decals processed in a Hall tag office can only be returned to the registered owner of the vehicle or a family member with valid government-issued identification showing the same last name and/or same address as the registered owner or granted power of attorney.
To ensure you receive your annual renewal notice, GO GREEN and receive your notice electronically into your email in box.
We offer 5 ways to renew your registration:
- Online – The DOR website offers lookup availability to renew registration.
- By Mail – Complete the requested information on the renewal notice and remit payment by check or by completing the credit card section on the remittance. Be sure to include the tag number. If the amount due is not listed, please call 770.531.6950 or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Mail renewal using the return envelope or addressing an envelope to Hall County Tax Commissioner | P O Box 1579 | Gainesville GA, 30503.
- Outdoor Drop Box – Located at the front entrance to the Hall County Government Center.
- Self Service Tag Renewal Kiosks –
New Holland Marketplace Kroger
1931 Jesse Jewell Pkwy,
Gainesville, GA 30501
Clearwater Crossing Kroger
7380 Spout Springs Rd,
Flowery Branch, GA 30542
- Call Center – 770.531.6950
Click here for instructional video and directions to our self-service renewal kiosks at Kroger Marketplace or Clearwater Crossing Kroger.
Alternative Fuel & Heavy Vehicle Impact Fees
- Georgia law requires additional fees for alternative fuel vehicles. More information
- Georgia law requires additional highway impact fees for all vehicles over 15,500 lbs. gross vehicle weight rating. More information
TRANSFER A TAG
You may be able to transfer your valid Georgia tag from a vehicle you no longer own to a newly-purchased or newly-acquired vehicle. This must be done at the county in which you physically reside.
The following are required to transfer a tag:
- The title must be applied for on the new vehicle.
- The first owner listed on the title must be the same for both vehicles unless the tag being transferred is a specialty or prestige tag. If it is a specialty or prestige tag and the first registered owner is not the same, the tag must be relinquished. Complete a relinquishment form and submit at the time of transfer.
- Current Georgia certificate of registration for the tag being transferred.
- Valid Georgia Insurance coverage
- Valid Georgia driver’s license or Georgia ID card reflecting the current Hall County address.
- FEES:$5 tag transfer fee (if the tag is current)
- $20 tag fee (plus special tag fees, if applicable) when transferring your plate during your registration period
- Ad valorem tax, if applicable
Please Note: Not all tags are transferable. To transfer a tag, both vehicles must require the same tag classification. For example, you cannot transfer a tag from your trailer to your car. If you are unsure, whether or not your tag can be transferred to your new vehicle you may contact our office at 770-531-6950.
Any paperwork, license plates or renewal decals processed in a Hall County Tag office can only be returned to the registered owner of the vehicle or a family member with valid government-issued identification showing the same last name and/or same address as the registered owner.
GET A DUPLICATE REGISTRATION
There are two ways to get a duplicate of your vehicle registration:
Visit the Georgia DOR’s Online Service Center and select ‘Replace Vehicle Registration.’ A copy of your registration will be emailed to you. This service is free.
Visit our office at the Hall County Government Center with your valid driver’s license. The charge for a duplicate registration is $1.
Any paperwork, license plates or renewal decals processed in a Hall County tag office can only be returned to the registered owner of the vehicle or a family member with valid government-issued identification showing the same last name and/or same address as the registered owner.
TITLE TAX DUE
Determine Title Tax Due
Effective March 1, 2013, sales tax and the annual ad valorem tax were removed on newly-purchased vehicles and replaced with a one-time title tax (TAVT).
- Visit the Georgia Department of Revenue website for the title tax calculator.
- You can also contact the Department of Motor Vehicles at email@example.com or 770-531-6950 during business hours (Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., excluding holidays) with the vehicle identification number, and we can calculate an estimate of taxes due.
AD VALOREM TAX DUE
Determine Ad Valorem Tax Due
Any vehicle purchased before March 1, 2013 were kept under the annual ad valorem tax. For online vehicle valuation and estimated ad valorem tax information, visit the Georgia DRIVES e-Services website.
- You may contact Hall County Tax Commissioner’s Office with your vehicle identification number (VIN) and current address, and we can calculate an estimate of taxes due.
- You may also email your VIN and current address to firstname.lastname@example.org to get an estimate.